You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: im here to sin Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 May 2016 6:05 am Title: Nude

thom recently tweeted a link to The Expanding Universe, funnily enough.

Reviewer: 4BK Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 May 2012 4:41 am Title: Supercollider

OMG! I love your drawing of Thom!

Reviewer: forcetengale Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Mar 2012 6:28 am Title: Denial

ALL fan fiction is wish fulfillment on one level or another, but if your wishes include being brutally assaulted and left for dead on an Oxfordshire hillside, actually, I kind of worry about you. Your mileage may vary too.

Actually, this is just... odd. You seem to have confused the reader with the writer. Why would it be my wishes which are being fulfilled through this piece? Surely the wishes belong to the writer, instead? When I've written fic it's always been about exploring what I was interested in, and readers could take it or leave it.

Also, I hadn't even read past the 4th chapter or so when I left my comment, so how could I know about, let alone wish for, the ending? At any rate, there's some kind of conversation it might be possible to have here about the function of fanfiction and fantasy lives and so on, one which I'm kind of interested in having but which might not take off here. Oh well.



Author's Response:

I kind of wish that there were a discussion area on this site, so ppl could discuss narrative/characters/meta without inflating the comments count, but oh well.

I found your comment really *odd*. All fan fiction is wish fulfilment. Sometimes it is fulfilling the wishes of the author, sometimes (if you're writing for an audience, or especially to a prompt) it's fulfilling the wishes of readers, and sometimes it's fulfilling those odd wishes that fly in the window like birds, those thoughts that are just "beamed to you" (as Thom put it.)

Sometimes that wish is "wanting to sleep with Thom Yorke." Sometimes it's "I want Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood to sleep with each other." Sometimes it's "I wish I knew what the meaning of that song lyric was" or "I wish Colin were a teenage rent boy in outer space so I could watch everyone have sex with him!" Or in this case, "wow, Thom and that journalist had such a rapport going, how can I get Thom into bed with a music journalist?" and a little bit of "no one ever asks Thom the questions I'm most curious about, so how can I engineer this happening?"

Complaining that there is too much "wish fulfilment" in fan fiction is like watching a cowboy movie and complaining that there are too many cattle and gunfights. It is inherent in the genre.

Sometimes, as readers, we like a piece of fan fiction because it fulfils the same wishes we have. Sometimes we hate it because it doesn't. Sometimes we hate it because it fulfils the reader's fantasies a little too closely, to the point where we no longer feel like a special snowflake for having them, which is the worst of all. (I wonder sometimes if this drives the oddly persistent prejudice against female narrators in fanfic, as much as just ordinary misogyny does.)

However, what I suspect you have done, is to conflate the author and the *narrator*.

It's true, that in order to flesh Fiona out, I filled her out with some experiences and characteristics both of my self and of people I've known, as I stated in the notes from Chapter 1. It's a device that every author - of fiction or fanfic - worth their salt uses. It's an argument that I use often, to defend fan fiction - that there is no such thing as a truly original character, they're all synthesised from somewhere. It's a feature, not a bug. People do the same thing when they write purely *Radiohead*, too, they fill in the bits they don't know with pieces of their own lives and experiences. I can't count the number of "Schoolboy Radiohead" stories, for example, that feature an Abingdon that is *nothing* like an English boarding school, but everything like the American high schools I imagine the author attended. Yet I never see the latter criticised with the same "wish fulfilment" and "author insert" tags, even though they are, just as much.

It is, though, a mistake, to automatically assume, just because that character has been fleshed out with personal characteristics of the author and friends, that they are, somehow, directly and only that author's personal embodiment. The same error that makes casual listeners assume that every Radiohead song must be based on the direct personal experiences of Thom Yorke. It is, but also it isn't - something that Thom and the interviewer talked about at length (in the interview that inspired the story, and in the story itself.) Where does the artist's life end and the art begin? If fan fiction can have a theme, that is this story's theme, with some lesbians tossed in to spice it up. It's disappointing to me, as a writer, that you missed that point so flagrantly, so yeah, that makes me butthurt by the comment, and this is why I'm expounding at such length.

I don't expect every reader to like my stories (though it is wonderful when they do.) You're perfectly welcome to hate the story, to hate the characters, to hate my reading of "Thom Yorke" (though my fragile flower of an ego would appreciate it if you didn't tell me so in the comments.) But these "wish fulfilment" and "fantasy lives" comments are, well... odd.

Reviewer: forcetengale Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Mar 2012 6:46 am Title: Denial

Huh. Far too close to straight up wish fulfillment for me. But mileage varies, and so on.



Author's Response:

ALL fan fiction is wish fulfillment on one level or another, but if your wishes include being brutally assaulted and left for dead on an Oxfordshire hillside, actually, I kind of worry about you. Your mileage may vary too.

Reviewer: nononono11 Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Mar 2012 7:02 pm Title: Denial

I don't know what to write without giving the ending away. I'm shocked. That wasn't how I thought she was. And I actually feel really bad for Thom now.

Reviewer: iwanttoseeyousmileagain Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Mar 2012 9:15 am Title: Denial

Omg I hate you a little for that. I totally fell in love with Fiona's character. AH WELL. I hope you'll be writing again because you have some serious talent.



Author's Response:

Mwah ha hah! Thank you! *stuffs fist in mouth to prevent spoilers for anyone who hasn't finished* Congrats on reaching the end, I know it was a long haul. I'm glad you liked Fi, I spent so much of the novel wanting to *slap* her I was convinced everyone was going to hate her. :D

Reviewer: iwanttoseeyousmileagain Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Mar 2012 12:12 am Title: Denial

Why is it going back and stopping? :(

Reviewer: killmesarah Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Mar 2012 10:44 pm Title: Denial

I'm sorry this story is ending here. I wanted to know how all this was going to play out. Do Fiona, Ruth and Thom live together happily ever after? Does Chris cause trouble?

Anyway, I hope to see more stories from you!

Reviewer: nononono11 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07 Mar 2012 4:07 am Title: Denial

Oh man. Please tell me there's still a lot left of this story. There's so many awesome places it could go.

Author's Response:

At the end of Chapter 9, we were exactly halfway through the story. I was very very tempted to end it there, because it would have been a good stopping point, and the second half is so different that I don't think anyone will like it. (I have no idea why I'm so insecure about this story, I'm usually quite confident about my pr0n.)

Reviewer: killmesarah Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Mar 2012 3:42 am Title: Ballet

oh my god this story is amazing

Reviewer: yar Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Feb 2012 7:21 pm Title: Denial

I absolutely love this. I think i have checked every day since this story was published to see if there had been any update! 

Reviewer: iwanttoseeyousmileagain Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Feb 2012 11:14 am Title: Approval

Oh my fucking god this is amazing.



Author's Response:

:D

Reviewer: nononono11 Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Feb 2012 12:33 am Title: Approval

Don't be silly, Wayland. I love this story, and I love the depth ofyour writing. It's interesting and complicated in a way that a straight smutty story isn't. Don't get me wrong, I really want them both to get over it, get nekkid, and go for it but sometimes the anticipation is the best part. Reading this reminds me in a weird way of Savage Love, which is a sex and relationship advice column. It's the most entertaining and interesting thing....Dan Savage gives hilarious, usually sound (if not overly flippant) advice to people of all orientations. You don't hear about asexuality often, but it's a really interesting, if not totally confusing, thing to think about.

Also, Thom pointing out "evidence" on his chest. He he....



Author's Response:

I have mixed feelings on Dan Savage - when he's on point, he's both incisive and also hilarious. But he has his blind spots and his prejudices, and he's tripped up on some enourmous gaffes through his inability to recognise them. And how oddly topically, the Guardian has chosen to run a massive front page article today about Asexuality, so I guess this is topical. I wanted to write a story about someone who was on the asexual spectrum since I first discovered the term, someone trying to negotiate their way through a hypersexual world without a map or a compass. I couldn't totally understand/relate to asexuals because of my ~feelings~ towards TY - but that was the question, how would an asexual react if I were ever confronted with a rampant slutmonster Thom? Add that idea to the lady in the interview, and boom! Fiona popped into my head fully formed. (This is why I worry about her being perceived as a straight-up MarySue because she's like a parallel world me. But I invested just as much of myself into Thom and his little theories about crushes being crucial for creativity so, well. Everyone in one's fiction is always a self portrait in some way or another, just twisted and warped into a new character.)

Argh, I probably shouldn't think about fan fiction this deeply. But I think about everything this deeply. Recent experiences in Radiohead fandom have made me worry about how being perceived as ~different~ leave one a target.

Reviewer: Kinchi23 Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Feb 2012 7:20 pm Title: Denial

This story's amazing so far. I feel like the tension between Fiona and Thom are fantastic (especially since you portray Thom so well that it sounds like its really him being documented). I wouldn't rush it, just pace it how you feel is natural. Don't feel insecure, the story deserves to be kept on.



Author's Response:

OK, I'm glad it's working for you. Yay. I've just spent so much time with these characters I feel like I know them like the back of my hand, but that means it makes it very hard to tell if they're actually coming across to other people! I spend most of my time wanting to knock their heads together, but they take their own sweet time.

Reviewer: krasis Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Feb 2012 4:45 pm Title: Denial

Woman, don't you dare stop writing this. =)



Author's Response:

aw, thank you. It's not actually a question of not writing it - the thing is already written, 120 pages worth. I just had no idea if it would be of interest to anyone that wasn't me!

Reviewer: killmesarah Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Feb 2012 3:37 am Title: Denial

nothing boring about this story! you're an excellent author:)

Reviewer: bittersweetdistractor Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Feb 2012 12:43 am Title: Denial

This is really intriguing! Not many other writers do simple character studies; this could turn out many ways. I'm looking forward to more.



Author's Response:

Aw, thank you! It's a character study, but I'm not sure how simple it stays for very long. tee hee hee.

Reviewer: nononono11 Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Feb 2012 12:33 am Title: Denial

This was far from boring! It's so easy and so entertaining to imagine this scenario. I'm super excited for more. And hopefully Thom decides to take his clothes off after all.



Author's Response:

Thanks! I'm glad it's not that boring.

And oh boy I don't want to go all spoilers on whether Thom gets his clothes off but, well, wait and see.

("how terribly sensible!" - I didn't actually use that quote, and now I really wish I had. Might try and insert it somewhere. Oh wait, I know where. Yes.)

You must login (register) to review.