Reviews For The Loophole
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: radiohoe Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Nov 2016 8:45 pm Title: Chapter 44

It has been over 5 months since I read "The Loophole", and I still have every single line tattooed in my mind.

When I began reading, the plot seemed too insteresting not to try, although several friends warned me that for my mental health, it would be in my best interest to turn away from it. Innocently, I ignored them, and to this day, still not sure if I should have.

The story is about Lucy, a part-time office worker, full-time radiohead fan that goes to great lenghts to assert herself as a key member of the fandom. The author should be credited on this, her world-building (both on and offline) are incredible, you can see she was really careful with stablishing a forum culture in this fic that could feel realistic to both Internet and Radiohead fandom when compared to IRL, plus you can really tell this took extensive research to make as to fit the real life events that this fic surronds.

So, what makes "The Loophole" worthy of the title of "'The Room' of Cheesecakes"?

The characters. Lucy is perhaps the worst RH fan ever. Not in the sense of dedication, after all she does create a forum and travel to see their concerts. But Lucy perishes on the minor details, which I won't discuss here to keep this review as spoiler free as possible. But by the end of it, I couldn't help but to root that a big hole opened under all those foolish caracters and swallowed them, leading all straight to hell.

In a website filled with subpar fanfics and some amazing gems, The Loophole earns its iconic status as a grandiouse trainwreck, in the sense that in both cases you don't want to see it unfold, but you can't help but keep watching. And thus, in that way, it fulfills the ultimate purpose of a fic: to keep you entertained.

 



Author's Response:

Heh, I don't disagree with this review at all (though I don't know what 'The Room' is and asking around has given multiple conflicting answers) but I do find this curious:

One of the major recurrant themes in this story is the policing of fandom, and all the many negative aspects of fandom. So the choice of calling Lucy "the worst RH fan ever" despite her obvious fandom strikes me as... well, curious.

Reviewer: InRadiohead-Rainbows Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Dec 2012 10:51 pm Title: Chapter 1

Oh my god. Brilliant story as always, I loved every second of it! I'm so glad Lucy got the happy ending she deserved!!! But I'm mad at Thom! Why am I angry? :O

Reviewer: killmesarah Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Dec 2012 3:54 am Title: Chapter 1

aw, I loved the ending, so glad everyone ended up with who they were meant to be with!

Author's Response:

Aw, thanks, I'm really pleased. I just wanted everyone to be happy, and though they might not have got the people they thought they wanted, everybody got the partner they really needed, and everyone lives happily ever after. <3

Reviewer: Nesser Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Dec 2012 8:53 am Title: Chapter 1

Owww, my heart ;__; I'm far too emotional to be reading this today! Gah ~_~

Reviewer: titles Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Nov 2012 4:05 am Title: Chapter 1

"You're from that band. That big English band that played here last fall." A pause, as fear flickered momentarily across Thom's face. "You're in Coldplay, aren't you?"

 

The look of shock on Thom's face was priceless, even as Adie burst out laughing in the front seat. But finally Thom recovered enough to smile wickedly and wink at me. "Yup, that's right. I play bass in Coldplay."

 

Ok, I'll admit it, I laughed.

Reviewer: titles Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Nov 2012 11:58 pm Title: Chapter 1

I truly enjoy this story and check back often for updates, but...

"Warning: these chapters occur in an environment where Coldplay may be present, and although every care has been taken to avoid Coldplay contamination"

Really? Are we not adults? This whole Coldplay-Radiohead animosity is ridiculous and always has been. I get it's a joke, but I can't help but be slightly bothered when it seems Radiohead fans have some obsession with putting down Chris Martin, Coldplay, and their fans. In fact, if anything, it would make more sense if they had that obsession with Muse, seeing as Radiohead and Muse aren't even on that good of terms, whereas they are with Coldplay.

But I digress.



Author's Response:

Come on, if you read my stories you know that comedy warnings are all part of the fun (to counterbalance the more serious warnings about Actual Bad Things.) You should have seen the criticism I got from folk-dancing lesbians and cheese-eating vegans. But maybe you should wait until the chapters are updated, to se the context of both the joke and the warning?

This one came off a box of ginger biscuits I was eating over the weekend, as a warning to nut allergy sufferers. But you're right, I'm a grown-up, and I should be more sensitive. So I would like to take this opportunity to unconditionally and sincerely apologise for any untinentional offense I have caused to people with nut allergies by comparing them to Coldplay.

Reviewer: killmesarah Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Oct 2012 1:53 am Title: Chapter 1

ok I seriously want to slap Adie right now...

Author's Response: Aw, don't be too hard on Adie. He's only 20 years old and he's just lost the girl of his dreams to a guy he thinks is dicking her around. (do you think Jonny is going to take the news any better?)

Reviewer: iwanttoseeyousmileagain Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Oct 2012 10:28 am Title: Chapter 1

Don't leave us there! But! If it's not too much to ask... Can the ending not break our hearts into a thousand pieces like you are so good at doing? XD



Author's Response:

OK, OK, I promise now. Furious and Eyesore and Adie will all eventually get happy endings. (Just not necessarily with each other.)

Reviewer: killmesarah Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Oct 2012 4:04 am Title: Chapter 26

oh you can't just leave them there! You have to write more.

Author's Response:

Right. I will try to find some motivation to wind this thing up.

Reviewer: InRadiohead-Rainbows Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Oct 2012 11:18 pm Title: Chapter 1

Oh. My. God. Please do not stop now I'm hooked! I love this story more than Furious loves Lucy! :(

Author's Response:

Aw, thanks, that is a whole lot of love. I will keep going, then. I'm just having mid-story "no one's reading" blues when I'm trying to motivate myself to finish the damn thing.

Reviewer: iwanttoseeyousmileagain Signed [Report This]
Date: 07 Sep 2012 12:09 pm Title: Chapter 1

It's 4AM and I haven't been able to stop reading since I started this. LET MY HEART GOOOOOOO.



Author's Response:

Mwah hah hah ha, Sleep Furiously will keep your heart FOREVER!!!

I'm glad you're finding it more-ish. I was worried that it was such a slow starter that no one would ever get into it.

Reviewer: killmesarah Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Jun 2012 1:20 am Title: Chapter 1

LOL true, forgot who is the author here.."expect the unexpected".

Reviewer: killmesarah Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Jun 2012 4:37 am Title: Chapter 2

Wayland does it again! Seriously, it never fails to amaze me how much you get the whole fandom thing.

and I wonder who SleepFuriously will turn out to be;)

Author's Response:

He's Cheiftan Mews! Clearly! LOL

 

Actually the one thing I'm going to say is, come on, this is one of *my* stories. Don't make any assumptions about who anyone on the forum is. Not even Jonny.

 

On the internet, no one knows you're a dog.

You must login (register) to review.